Swimmer of the Year Awards

By Greta van Meeteren

During the 40th Sunbelt Championships in Charlotte on Saturday, January 25, 2014, awards were given to the Swimmers of the Year 2013 in the Pool category and in the Open Water and Long Distance category. The awards were handed out by USMS CEO Rob Butcher and



LMSC Chair Jon Blank.

The Male Pool Swimmer of the Year award went to E. Ole Larson, age 92. In the picture on the left is Ole with Rob Butcher. Right: Ole gives a thank you to Rob and Jon and the crowd in the bleachers.



The crowd responded with a much deserved standing ovation.

The award for the female swimmer of the year went to Sally Newell. Sally no longer swims for North Carolina, but did so when she collected the points which earned her this award.

In this case there was a tie for





second place between Erika Braun and Alicia Uhl in the picture on the left. Who knows what might be in store for the year 2014?

The award for the female Long Distance / Open Water Swimmer of the Year went to Andrea Packard. Unfortunately Andrea (picture to the right) was unable to come to Charlotte due to illness.

> There was a tie for male Long Distance / Open



Water Swimmer of the Year between Steven Shotts (picture on the left) and Jim Green.

Jim was unable to be present to receive his award in person.

